First day of creating natural sourdough bread starter

The start of my starter

The start of my starter

After being gluten free on a paleo / primal diet for five years, I learned that what some of us think is an intolerance to gluten may be an intolerance to bleached, bromated, enriched, and/or adulterated wheat.  I found my gut bugs and I were able to digest cookies and baking powder breads made from commercial organic whole wheat flour.  We most certainly could NOT tolerate commercial organic whole wheat bread, not even one bite.  We didn’t have much luck, bugs and I, with most organic whole wheat pasta, either.

It has been on my bucket list to create my own sourdough starter.  I’ve started making my own kombucha and it was time to add fermented grain to the list.  I’ve been infatuated with the art of bread making from the outside, as both reader and consumer, my whole life.

I got my inspiration from http://www.theperfectloaf.com and freshly ground flours from http://www.gristandtoll.com. Because the flours are freshly milled and 50% is rye, I’ve been warned they will move fast.  The sides of the jar are messy from stirring, but this is just the flour and the water together at 100% hydration in a very dry climate.

Leave a Reply

